CLAT stands for Common Law Admissions Test. It is an all India entrance examination conducted by the National Law Schools/Universities for admissions to their under-graduate and post-graduate degree programmes (LL.B & LL.M). The responsibility of conducting the exam is rotated and given on the basis of seniority in the establishment.


The Common Law Admission Test (CLAT), is an all India entrance examination, conducted on rotation by 22 National Law Universities (NLUs) for admissions to their Under-Graduate and Post-Graduate degree programmes. The 22 participating NLUs in the order of their year of establishment are:

  1. National Law School of India University, Bangalore (NLSIU)

  2. NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad (NALSAR)

  3. National Law Institute University, Bhopal (NLIU)

  4. The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata (WBNUJS)

  5. National Law University, Jodhpur (NLUJ)

  6. Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur (HNLU)

  7. Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar (GNLU)

  8. Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow (RMLNLU)

  9. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala (RGNUL)

  10. Chanakya National Law University, Patna (CNLU)

  11. National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi (NUALS)

  12. National Law University, Orissa (NLUO)

  13. National University of Study & Research in Law, Ranchi (NUSRL)

  14. National Law University & Judicial Academy, Assam (NLUJA)

  15. Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University, Visakhapatnam (DSNLU)

  16. The Tamil Nadu National Law School, Tiruchirappalli (TNNLS)

  17. Maharashtra National Law University, Mumbai

  18. Maharashtra National Law University, Nagpur

  19. Maharashtra National Law University, Aurangabad

  20. HP National Law University, Shimla

  21. Dharmashastra National Law University, Jabalpur

  22. DR.B.R.Ambedkar National Law University, Haryana



  1. An LL.B Degree or an equivalent examination with a minimum of Fifty per cent (50%) of marks or its equivalent grade in case of candidates belonging to General/OBC/PWD/NRI/PIO/OCI categories and Forty-Five per cent (45%) of marks or its equivalent grade in case of candidates belonging to SC/ST categories.

  2. Candidates appearing in the qualifying examination in April/May 2020 are also eligible to apply.

  3. No upper age limit is prescribed for appearing in CLAT.

  4. Tie Breaker Rule: In case of equal marks, the break of tie shall be by the following procedure and order as under:

    1. Higher age;

    2. Computerised draw of lots.



The PG-CLAT will feature an emphasis on the comprehension abilities of the students.

  • It shall be of 120 minutes duration, with one section.

  • The first section would include 120 objective-type questions carrying 1 mark each. There shall be a negative marking of 0.25 marks for every wrong answer.

  • The paper will be based on the mandatory subjects of the undergraduate program and include Constitutional Law, Jurisprudence, Administrative Law, Law of Contract, Torts, Family Law, Criminal Law, Property Law, Company Law, Public International Law, Tax Law, Environmental Law, and Labour & Industrial Law.



In this section of the PG-CLAT, you will be provided extracts from primary legal materials such as important court decisions in various fields of law, statutes or regulations. Each passage will be followed by a series of questions that will require you to demonstrate the:

  • Ability to read and comprehend the issues discussed in the passage, as well as any arguments and viewpoints discussed or set out in the passage;

  • Awareness of the issues discussed in the passage, as well as of legal issues and facts related to and arising out of the passage and the judgment or statute from which it is extracted;

  • Summarise the passage; and

  • Ability to apply your knowledge of the fields of law discussed in the passage.